Breath Beneath

Saxophone Quartet
Duration: 9 minutes

Commissioned by the PRISM Quartet

Premiere: June 2004, New York City & Philadelphia

About Breath Beneath:
Breath Beneath evokes the underlying, ever-present hum of a dense city. By playing softly in the saxophones’ lowest registers with restrained virtuosity, the quartet hums a subterranean sound inaudible at street-level.